Designer: Harry S. Colt
Length: 7,310 yards
Royal Dublin Golf Club, as it was originally called, was founded in 1885. The club moved twice before the course finally came to rest on Bull Island in 1889, and was subsequently renovated by Harry Colt.
This is a classic traditional “Scottish” out and back links, relatively unusual for an Irish links. The course is fairly flat and narrow with long stretches of out of bounds, calling for accurate drives, and the wind tends to swirl around Dublin Bay, generally making the back nine tougher. The greens are outstanding and there are some brutally deep greenside bunkers here too; the ones on the fairway aren’t much easier.
Royal Dublin has seen its fair share of professional tournaments and has hosted numerous Irish Opens.